Director Maria G. Astorga

mariagback2one-copy2

Time and time again we are asked the question “Who runs the world?” and the answer remains the same, girls. Maria G. Astorga is one of those girls gearing up to take over and she’s equipped with passion, a creative mind, and strength like no other. Being raised in Venezuela, the dream of becoming of filmmaker was just that, a dream but directing is something that has been a goal she refused to not succeed in. Within the last year she has had the opportunity to fulfill her dream and direct a few short films. In that time she has grown and is more confident in her abilities as a creative person. In December she will be facing her biggest challenge, directing the short film A Journey’s Past written by Dustin Weathers. When asked about the project Maria said “this is the first time I’m working on something that I feel emotionally connected to, and I have no words to explain how powerful that is…[I’m] putting 100% of my energy and thought into this…”.

In the first year of her career, Maria has already faced negativity. Like most industries, it has proven difficult to be taken seriously when you’re a minority but she is optimistic that change is on its way. “Right now I’m working on becoming the person I want to be in a few years, and it doesn’t matter if someone has 100 ways to bring me down, I will always find another reason to prove them wrong.” It is strong, creative, and resilient women like Maria in the film industry that are paving the pathway for us all to be who we want to be. 

Keep an Eye out for this one, she’s a gem.

Keep up with her as her career unfolds on Twitter and Instagram.

Alright crew,

Back 2 One.


Leave a comment